Testimonials

Hello David and Nancy,

We are still thinking about what a good BWCA experience we had this week. Thank you for such great outfitting!

Thanks again!
Mary McKelvey and Chris Bercaw

Hungry Jack Outfitters,

Last week our family and friends rented 3 canoes from you leaving Thursday, August 4 to Sunday, August 7. We have rented gear from many different lodges and outfitters in the past, but renting from Hungry Jack Outfitters was truly a step up! It was clear that you are very well organized! We had a few new people to the BWCA on our trip, so the paddle tips, paddle length fitting and carrying tips were much appreciated. You also lent us extra paddles and life jackets, as we had to get another canoe from a different outfitter and they forgot to give us these things (and we forgot to ask)! Thank you!

We also greatly appreciated everyone’s kindness that we can across. The man who picked us up from Gunflint was wonderful and left everyone with a very positive last impression of the Boundry Waters and Hungry Jack Outfitters.

We hope to rent from you again next time we are in the BWCA. Thank you!

All the best,
Becky Boe & Ryan Schwingler


Thanks folks, had the perfect weekend trip I was hoping for.

Ric


Hello Nancy and David,

I want to say thank you again for all you done to make our experience in the BWCA most memorable. HJO’s overnight accommodations, outing gear and packed meals were outstanding. Your service/quality and detail to customer satisfaction is best in field.

Our trip was extremely enjoyable and relaxing.

Eric & Ryan,


“Great day-trip experience!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014
We returned to Hungry Jack Outfitters for a day trip into the BWCAW after using them 4 years ago. We were so pleased with the way Dave and his crew took care of us then that absolutely returned this time too. Facilities are remarkably clean. Dave is a light-hearted and thoughtful ambassador to the BWCAW. Great experience. Will definitely patronize Hungry Jack again.
Visited August 2014


“Always a great experience!”
Reviewed September 12, 2015
My son and I just returned from another awesome trip into the Boundary Waters. This most recent trip was my 12th over the last 20 years and each one has been with Hungry Jack Outfitters. Dave, Nancy and the staff at HJO are simply the best! You always get excellent personal attention and help planning your customized trip to meet your objectives. Dave’s recommendations have always been “spot on” making each trip exactly what we wanted it to be.

The outfitting gear provided by HJO is always top of the line and everything is in great condition. Attention is given to the smallest details puts everything over the top. Nothing is missed.

The food pack provided by HJO is also first class. Again, attention to details make the meals and snacks an excellent experience every time. Everything is very well organized and of excellent quality and quantity. The cook kit provides for everything needed to have great camp meals every time. We have never been hungry.

The facilities at HJO are also excellent. From the bunk houses to the bath house, everything is spotless clean and in great condition.

Can’t say enough good things about Hungry Jack Outfitters. Can’t wait to return.


“Great day-trip experience!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014
We returned to Hungry Jack Outfitters for a day trip into the BWCAW after using them 4 years ago. We were so pleased with the way Dave and his crew took care of us then that absolutely returned this time too. Facilities are remarkably clean. Dave is a light-hearted and thoughtful ambassador to the BWCAW. Great experience. Will definitely patronize Hungry Jack again.
Visited August 2014


“Great Outfitters and Fabulous Trip”
Reviewed January 9, 2014
Three friends and I first met Nancy and Dave six years ago and had a great time canoeing due in large part to their excellent guidance and preparation for us. This September (2013) we went back for a trip to Quetico and they have not lost their personal touch in the least! If you want a small outfitter that will attend to your quirky personal needs and requests, Hungry Jack is what you need. And warm muffins brought to your cabin on those frosty mornings? How can you beat that?
We tried their patience on several occasions but at least to our faces the Hungry Jack folks were always gracious and friendly! If you want great folks that will treat you well, you can’t do better than Hungry Jack!


Al Lawson
8 months ago
What a trip….Caught fish on every lake we paddled. Dave and Nancy are awesome! They help plan your trip as if they were traveling on the trip. If it’s not good enough for them, then why send a customer there. Our equipment was top of the line. Especially appreciate the composite paddles. Dave noted detailed information on our map which helped us evaluate our trip options each night including specific campsites. Can’t imagine any other outfitter when considering the Boundary waters, especially the eastern region.

"Your service/quality and detail to customer satisfaction is best in field. Our trip was extremely enjoyable and relaxing."